After a long wait WhatsApp has finally rolled out its most anticipated feature ‘Delete for Everyone’ that allows its over one billion users revoke their messages in case they sent those to a wrong person or a group. iOS, Android and Windows phone users can recall the wrongly sent messages or messages that are mistakenly sent to the other chats. You can only delete messages for everyone for up to seven minutes after sending.
WhatsApp’s ‘delete for everyone’ isn’t limited to text messages as it works for photos, videos, GIFS, contact cards, etc as well. However, it does not work for quoted messages or broadcast messages. The report notes that recipients should have the latest version of WhatsApp app for the feature to work. Using the ‘delete for everyone’, people can revoke messages in group as well as individual chats. However, only messages that have not been read by the receiver can be recalled.
How does the Delete for Everyone works?
For now there is no official word. But from what people on the web have figured out so far, it seems that the Delete For Everyone works similar to how Gmail Undo works. It seems that when the feature is enabled and when you revoke a message, WhatsApp would send a copy of the your message to the receiver. When the recipient receives that false copy, his phone won’t show you the notification and it won’t save it in his chat history. However, it will check if there is the ID of the message in the database: on the off chance that it will discover the message, the message will be recalled.
The feature is a slow roll out. You may receive the activation message any time but in case you don’t then uninstall and reinstall the app. You can also go to WhatsApp’s Setting> Chats>Backup and perform it.